Wednesday, January 29, 2014

The Fourteen Categories

All animals fall into one of 14 categories:

*Those who belong to the emperor
*Embalmed ones
*Those who are trained
*Suckling pigs
*Mermaids (or Sirens)
*Fabulous ones
*Stray dogs
*Those who are included in this classification
*Those who tremble as if they were mad
*Innumerable ones
*Those drawn with a very fine camel hair brush
*Those who have just broken the flower vase
*Those who, at a distance, resemble flies

--from "Celestial Emporium of Benevolent Knowledge," a fictitious taxonomy of animals described in the book THE ANALYTICAL LANGUAGE OF JOHN WILKINS by the magic realist writer Jorge Luis Borges

No comments: